Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Hair comb for wife

Default Hair comb for wife

Good morning I am a wood carver who has a wife with beautiful long hair. She has recently been getting into sticks and flexi clips and now she is talking about combs.( not sure why it is called a comb I would have thought prong or fork but what do I know) Anyway back to my original question. I would like to carve her a comb for her hair from a beautiful piece of maple I have been saving for a few years until a special project came my way. This is where I need some help I am trying to surprise her but being ex military and bald I have no knowledge of these combs other than what I have been able find online. I am unable to find anything on dimensions. This is what I would like to know
    1. How wide the comb is. I am thinking of 3 prong but could do a two prong
    2. How thick the wood is my guess is 1/4 inch
    3. The length and width of the prongs (not sure if this is dependent on the length of her hair or not if it will help her hair is a few inches shy of her waist and very thick)
    4. Also would it be better to have the prongs straight or with a slight curve inward.
    5. Also are the forks tapered I can see from the pictures I have seen some are tapered when you look straight at them some are not(which is better) and are they tapered from outside to inside.
    I plan on carving either a bird(my specialty) or some flowers (depending where my heart takes me when I start)at the top in bass relief.
    I would appreciate any advise you could provide I know she would love this and would buy me a few points toward past present or future stupid decisions I have made.

Length
    32/40/?
    Type
    2a/F/ii

Default Re: Hair comb for wife

You are just adorable. My suggestion is to ask her what her dream comb would look like and go from there.
    Lady Nephelai, Storm-Breaker of the Skies in the Order of the Long Haired Knights!

Length
    13/37/32
    Type
    2a/M/ii